You are here

Jerez, MotoGP stats and facts

Yamaha have not finished on the top step of the podium for the last 13 races, their last win coming at Assen last year with Rossi

MotoGP: Jerez, MotoGP stats and facts

Following Austin, Andrea Dovizioso leads the MotoGP Championship standings with 46 points. This is the lowest score for a rider leading the Championship after the opening three races of the year since 1996.

Eight points cover the top ve in the MotoGP Championship classi cation, which is the smallest margin covering the top five in the premier class after the 1rst three races since the introduction of the current points scoring system in 1993. In addition, this is the closest top 15 after the rst three races since 1996.

Eight different riders have stood on the podium in the opening three races, the 1rst time this has happened in the premier class since 1996. In addition, three different riders have won each of the three races for the rst time since 2013.

Marc Marquez win at Austin is the fourth time that he has won at any circuit in the MotoGP class after qualifying on pole position, leading across the line on every lap and setting the fastest lap of the race. It’s the third time at Austin (2014, 2016, 2018). The other circuit is Jerez (2014).

At Austin, Maverick Vinales stood on the podium for the 1rst time since he was third in Australia last year. This was the 52nd podium finish in his Grand Prix career, equalling Wayne Gardner and Barry Sheene.

With his third at Austin, Andrea Iannone stood on the podium for the 1rst time since he switched to Suzuki in 2017, becoming the eighth Suzuki rider with at least one podium nish since the introduction of the MotoGPTM class in 2002.

This was the 1rst back-to-back podium nish for Suzuki since Australia/Japan in 2016 with Maverick Vinales, and only the fourth in the MotoGP era since 2002.

Andrea Dovizioso has only led across the line for a total of five laps in 2018. Other riders who have led races this year are: Marc Marquez (26 laps), Johann Zarco(19), Jack Miller (11), Cal Crutchlow (4) and Álex Rins (1).

Marc Marquez and Maverick Vinales made Texas the rst Spanish 1–2 since Valencia 2016 when Jorge Lorenzo finished ahead of Marc Márquez. COTA was the 44th in the premier class overall.

Johann Zarco has scored points in the last 20 successive races and finished as the top Independent Team rider in eight of them, including last time out at Austin. The last time he failed to score any points was in Qatar last year, when he crashed out after leading the rst six laps of the race on his MotoGP debut.

Yamaha have not finished on the top step of the podium for the last 13 races, their last win coming at Assen last year with Valentino Rossi. The last time Yamaha had a sequence of more than 13 races without a win was the 18 races that included the last two races of 2002 and the 16 races of 2003.

Only seven riders have scored points in all three of the MotoGP races in 2018: Johann Zarco, Maverick Vinales, Jack Miller, Danilo Petrucci, Andrea Iannone, Andrea Dovizioso and Tito Rabat.

Jorge Lorenzo will celebrate his 31st birthday on the opening day in Jerez, which will also be the 16th anniversary of his Grand Prix debut at this track. Then, he had to miss the 1rst day due to being underage – turning 15 the following day.

No Yamaha riders were on the podium in the MotoGP race last year at Jerez; the 1rst time this happened at this track since 2006

Tom Luthi is the only one of the ve rookies in the MotoGP class this year to have previously nished on the podium at Jerez in any of the smaller classes, doing that from 2010 to 2012 in Moto2.

After scoring points in the two opening races of his rookie season in the MotoGP class, Hafizh Syahrin failed to score any points at Austin after crashing out of the race. He is still, however, leading the ght for Rookie of the Year. Syahrin will celebrate his 24th birthday on the qualifying day at Jerez.

Related articles