You are here

MotoGP, Jerez Circuit names turn after Carmelo Ezpeleta

Turn 7, located between the turns dedicated to Dani Pedrosa and "Aspar" Martinez, will bear the name of Dorna's CEO

MotoGP: Jerez Circuit names turn after Carmelo Ezpeleta

María José García-Pelayo, Mayor of Jerez and President of Cirjesa, announced that Turn 7 at Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto will be named after Carmelo Ezpeleta, Dorna's CEO. The Government of Jerez wanted to offer this to Ezpeleta as a sign of recognition for his work on behalf of motorcycling and, in particular, the Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto during all the years in which it has hosted the MotoGP Spanish Grand Prix and the SBK World Championship.

Turn 7 is a fast left-hand corner, which rises above the Arroyo de El Gato and has been modified to improve safety, increasing the ride-off area from 40 to 70 meters. This corner, which will be renamed "Carmelo Ezpeleta Corner", is located between the corners dedicated to Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Martínez Aspar.

The Jerez Circuit has 12+1 turns (8 right and 5 left). Of these, seven are named after motorcycling riders: Ángel Nieto, Peluqui, Sito Pons, Aspar, Crivillé, Lorenzo, and Pedrosa.


Translated by Leila Myftija

Related articles