You are here

SBK, (Another) record-breaking BSB: 33 on board for 2022!

The British Superbike 2022 entry list includes 33 regularly registered riders, along with current Champion Tarran Mackenzie and the return of Tom Sykes and Leon Haslam.

SBK: (Another) record-breaking BSB: 33 on board for 2022!


A National Superbike Championship par excellence in terms of competitiveness and impressiveness. The British Superbike has proven to be in tip-top shape year after year, thanks to important motorcycle brands (present both directly and through national branches) and riders with a broad international scope. The grids are always overflowing, in terms of numbers, in this category. A prerogative that will not change, even for the 2022 season, with 33 top riders representing 6 different manufacturers (Yamaha, Ducati, Honda, Kawasaki, BMW, and Suzuki).

33 riders at the starting line-up 

Less than a month after the inaugural pre-season tests scheduled for March 25th-27th in Snetterton, the BSB entry list is now complete. With the #1 on the fairing of his McAMS Yamaha R1, Tarran Mackenzie will try to defend his recent title, even if the competition promises to be ruthless, beginning with his teammate, Jason O’Halloran, who was left high and dry after the 2021 epilogue, and two former champions of the caliber of Josh Brookes (MCE Ducati), and let's not forget the return of Leon Haslam (VisionTrack Lee Hardy Racing Kawasaki).

Two world champions 

2022 isn’t just former BSB champions, but world champions as well, like Danny Kent - 2015 Moto3 Champion and reconfirmed with Buildbase Suzuki - as well as Tom Sykes (who will soon test the V4-R for the first time during the Misano tests organized by Aruba).  Taken on by Paul Bird’s MCE Ducati, the 2013 SBK World Champion will return to the place where he was competitively formed, after a long period deplete of gratification.

Wild horses

In the true BSB style, the so-called "outsiders" certainly won’t be missing the role call, namely, those experienced riders with the potential of being the stars of the championship and the skill to shuffle the cards: Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK), Christian Iddon (Buildbase Suzuki), Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha), Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati), Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW),  Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad), as well as rookies like Rory Skinner (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) class of 2001.


1-Tarran Mackenzie-McAMS Yamaha
2-Glenn Irwin-Honda Racing UK
4-Dan Linfoot-iForce BMW
5-Dean Harrison-DAO Racing Kawasaki
7-Ryan Vickers-FHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports 
10-Joe Sheldon-Shaw-NP Racing BMW
11-Rory Skinner-FS-3 Racing Kawasaki
12-Luke Mossey-TAG Racing Honda
13-Takumi Takahashi-Honda Racing UK
14-Lee Jackson-FS-3 Racing Kawasaki
16-Luke Hopkins-Black Onyx Security Honda
18-Andrew Irwin-SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad
21-Christian Iddon-Buildbase Suzuki
22-Jason O'Halloran-McAMS Yamaha
25-Josh Brookes-MCE Ducati
27-Bjorn Estment-Powerslide/Catfoss Racing Suzuki
28-Bradley Ray-Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha
31-Sam Cox-NP Racing BMW
34-Liam Delves-Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki
44-Dan Jones-iForce BMW
46-Tommy Bridewell-Oxford Products Racing Ducati
52-Danny Kent-Buildbase Suzuki
55-Leon Jeacock-Specsavers Suzuki
60-Peter Hickman-FHO Racing BMW
65-Josh Owens-Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki
66-Tom Sykes-MCE Ducati
68-Tom Neave-Honda Racing UK
69-Chrissy Rouse-Crowe Performance BMW
77-Kyle Ryde-Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha
79-Storm Stacey-Team LKQ Euro Car Parts Kawasaki
83-Danny Buchan-SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad
89-Fraser Rogers-iForce BMW
88-Ryo Mizuno-Honda Racing UK
91-Leon Haslam-VisionTrack Kawasaki

Translated by Leila Myftija

Related articles