MotoGP, Lorenzo racing again... in Silverstone Virtual Race

The rider from Mallorca will be the guest of honor in the fifth virtual event, but without Rossi or the Marquez brothers, with the Moto2 and Moto3 also present


From Misano to... Silverstone. The MotoGP virtual races are still on, and the fifth stage will be held on the iconic English track that returned to the world championship calendar in 2010. The event will take place on Sunday, May 31st, starting at 3 pm and, as usual, the riders will be challenging each other with the MotoGP20.

What's new compared to the last race is the return of the Moto2 and Moto3 riders, who were in Misano for the MotoE, but the line-up of the premier class is also arousing curiosity. This race will be made up of eight riders, three less than the last, but with a new, very important name: Jorge Lorenzo, who's back "on the track" for the official Yamaha team, but as a Wildcard.

And neither Valentino Rossi nor the Marquez brothers - absent for the first time - will be racing against Lorenzo, while it'll be Fabio Quartararo's and Pecco Bagnaia's fifth time, forming the blue team, along with Michele Pirro and Lorenzo Savadori. Rounding out the grid will be Tito Rabat, Joan Mir, and Takaaki Nakagami.

As for the Moto2, ten riders will be challenging each other, including the winner of the first and only real race so far: Tetsuta Nagashima. Obviously, the blue team made up of Marco Bezzecchi, Nicolò Bulega, and Stefano Manzi won't be missing out either. The blue team in the Moto3 will be less crowded, with only Stefano Nepa, who'll have to deal with (among others) Jaume Masia and John Mcphee.

Here's the complete list of participants:


Ducati Team: Michele Pirro

Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo

Team Suzuki Ecstar: Joan Mir

Petronas Yamaha SRT: Fabio Quartararo

Pramac Racing: Francesco Bagnaia

LCR Honda Idemitsu: Takaaki Nakagami

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini: Lorenzo Savadori

Reale Avintia Racing: Tito Rabat


Red Bull KTM Ajo: Tetsuta Nagashima

Flexbox HP 40: Hector Garzo

Liqui Moly Intact GP: Marcel Schrötter

ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team: Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin

Petronas Sprinta Racing: Xavi Vierge

NTS RW Racing GP: Bo Bendsneyder

Sky Racing Team VR46: Marco Bezzecchi

MV Agusta Forward Racing: Stefano Manzi

Federal Oil Gresini Moto2: Nicolo Bulega

EG 0.0 Marc VDS: Augusto Fernandez


Aspar Team Gaviota: Stefano Nepa

Petronas Sprinta Racing: John McPhee

Leopard Racing: Jaume Masia

Kömmerling Gresini Moto3: Jeremy Alcoba

Honda Team Asia: Yuki Kunii

Red Bull KTM Ajo: Kaito Toba

Red Bull KTM Tech 3: Ayumu Sasaki

Reale Avintia Racing: Carlos Tatay

CIP Green Power: Maximilian Kofler

CarXpert Prüstel GP: Barry Baltus


Translated by Leila Myftija

Related articles