You are here

MotoGP, The 2020 entry lists are published, and Johann Zarco is missing

Only team Marc VDS in Moto2 is still to confirm its second rider, having lost Alex Marquez

MotoGP: The 2020 entry lists are published, and Johann Zarco is missing

The FIM has circulated the 2020 world championship entry lists and Johann Zarco's name does not appear. For now, Tito Rabat and Karel Abraham are listed under team Avintia, while team Marc VDS has an empty space along its second rider's name, having lost Alex Marquez.

The Frenchman still hasn't decided what his future will be, but the only way to stay in MotoGP would be to accept Gigi Dall’Igna's offer to move to Avintia. Otherwise, he would have to move back to Moto2 (with Marc VDS), attempting to win his third title in the intermediate class.

This unresolved issue aside, the entry list for the reigning class is as expected. There will be six Italian riders, like this year, namely Valentino Rossi, Andrea Dovizioso, Danilo Petrucci, Andrea Iannone, Franco Morbidelli and Pecco Bagnaia.

There is also a strong Italian presence in Moto2, with Lorenzo Baldassarri, Luca Marini, Nicolò Bulega, Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Simone Corsi, Enea Bastianini, Stefano Manzi and Marco Bezzecchi.

Seven Italians feature on the Moto3 list, in the shape of Dennis Foggia, Celestino Vietti, Tony Artbolino, Andrea Migno, Niccolò Antonelli, Romano Fenati e Stefano Nepa.

One interesting fact: team Prustel GP has hired Barry Baltus, a very young Belgian rider who will only turn 16 on 3 May, meaning he cannot compete in the world championship before that date.

Translated by Heather Watson

Related articles

Privacy Policy