SBK, Rea heads up the Kawasaki dream team at the Suzuka 8 Hours

Jonathan will race alongside Leon Haslam and Toprak Razgatlioglu as they attempt to secure a victory that the green machine has not brought home since 1993


Kawasaki has every intention of aiming for the win during the upcoming edition of the Suzuka 8 Hours. The Japanese manufacturer has put together a dream team for their assault in the classic endurance race, a squad formed of Jonathan Rea, Leon Haslam and Toprak Razgatlioglu.

The green machines haven't won at Suzuka for 26 years, not since Aaron Slight and Scott Russell rode the ZX-7R to success in 1993. That has been Kawasaki's only win in the 8 Hours.

This year it will try again with a full factory team comprising very experienced riders. Jonathan Rea won at Suzuka in 2012 with the Honda, Haslam did the double in 2013 and 2014, he too with the CBR. The Turkish rider rounds out a time that will be aiming for the highest step of the rostrum, battling it out against Yamaha, that has dominated the last four editions of the race.

In last year's edition, it was Rea who scored pole position, but things did not work out in the race (first he was left without fuel, then he crashed with slick tyres on a damp track while following the Safety Car) and he had to settle for third overall, alongside Leon Haslam and Kazuma Watanabe.


Translated by Heather Watson

Related articles