You are here

SBK, Aragon: Rea? For Bautista, the man to beat is closer to home

Davies has struggled during the first two rounds, but he's won more than anybody at Motorland. Will the tests of ten days ago prove useful now?

SBK: Aragon: Rea? For Bautista, the man to beat is closer to home


He is without a doubt the favourite, having dominated during the first two rounds and considering that he is racing at home this weekend. We're talking about Alvaro Bautista, who dreams of playing a starring role at the opening European round of Aragon. Here are the Motorland stats.

- In 2011 Aragon became the fifth Spanish track in history to host WorldSBK.

- Up until now, 70 races have been run in Spain, 16 of which at Aragon, which thus overtakes Albacete (16 races hosted between 1992 and 1999) to become the second Spanish circuit.

- The last 12 wins at Motorland have been scored by British riders. Since winning his first in 2014, Chaz Davies has totaled seven, Jonathan Rea three and Tom Sykes two. Marco Melandri and Max Biaggi have scored one apiece.

- Over the last four rounds at Aragon (2015-2018), only two non-British riders have reached the podium, the first Marco Melandri, the second Xavi Forés, third in race 1 last year.

- The last eight races run at Motorland (2015, race 1) have been won by just two riders: Chaz Davies (five) and Jonathan Rea (three).

- The Kawasaki Cannibal has reached the podium in each of the eight races he's run at the track on board his ZX-10RR.

- Chaz Davies comes to Aragon having won seven of the races previously run at the Spanish track. If he were to win at least won of this year's races, he would join a very limited number of riders who have won at least eight times at any given track. Two examples are Carl Fogarty and Jonathan Rea, who have each won 12 races at Assen, as well as Tom Sykes with 9 victories at Donington.

- Carlos Checa is the only Spaniard to have scored pole and won a race, also setting the fastest lap, at Aragon in 2011.

- An unstoppable Alvaro Bautista has already collected six consecutive wins, equaling Troy Bayliss result in 2002 and Neil Hodgson's in 2003, the latter having continued to win as far as race nine. Nine, like Colin Edwards' number of consecutive wins in 2002, from race 2 at Laguna Seca until race 2 at Imola. The record-holder is Rea though, who scored 11 consecutive race wins last season.

- If Bautista were to win all three of this weekend's races, Ducati would achieve its 350th win in SBK.


Translated by Heather Watson

Related articles