You are here

SBK, Entry list: 21 set to start in 2018

Four Italians to line up in Superbike, De Rosa and Badovini with the MV in Supersport while Sport300 fields two women, Herrera and Carrasco

SBK: Entry list: 21 set to start in 2018

The long winter break means we're already looking ahead to 2018 and, with that in mind, here's the entry list for next season's Superbike World Championship. The 21 participants were officially confirmed this morning, a field that includes four Italian riders in the shape of Marco Melandri, Lorenzo Savadori and Grillini riders, Gabriele Ruiu and Roberto Rolfo.

Then there is the return of Loris Baz, riding team Althea's only BMW, while Honda fields a trio, entrusting a third bike to American PJ Jacobsen who joins Jake Gagne and Leon Camier. Team Pedercini will line up with Colombian rider Yonny Hernandez while Puccetti hires young Turk Razgatlioglu, who moves up from Superstock.

In addition to the top class, we also have a Supersport entry list, featuring Raffaele De Rosa on the MV Agusta of team Vamag. The Italian will share the garage with fellow countryman Ayrton Badovini, while rookies include Alfonso Coppola, who just missed out on the SuperSport300 title last season. A total of 30 entries, including eight Italians.

Then there are the 36 SuperSport300 entries, a field in which the names of Maria Herrera and Ana Carrasco stand out. The two women will be up against favourite Scott Deroue, while Filippo Fuligni, Nicola Settimo and Filippo Rovelli will fly the flag for Italy.  

Translated by Heather Watson

Related articles