You are here

SBK, Portimao: doing the double to secure the title

Riders who have been able to win both races at the Portuguese track have gone on to snatch the title, Bayliss, Biaggi and Rea in that order

SBK: Portimao: doing the double to secure the title

Portimao is all set for round ten of the Superbike season and we're sure we're in for yet another act in the Ducati-Kawasaki battle. As we wait for curtains up, here are some facts and figures regarding the Portuguese event.  

230 – Jonathan Rea has scored 230 points at Portimao. Among the other riders on track, Tom Sykes comes closest to this tally, with 114.

65 – Eugene Laverty holds the record for the most laps as race leader at Portimao, 65 (dominating two full races here). He's followed by the Kawasaki pair, Tom Sykes with 55 and Jonathan Rea with 49.

16 – Rea is the only rider to have competed in 16 SBK races held at the track.

10 – The record man in Portugul is Jonathan Rea with 10 podiums. No other rider has achieved more than give podiums. Second place goes to Sylvain Guintoli with precisely five.

10/3 –The fastest lap of the race has been set by 10 different riders in Portugal, but by only three manufacturers (Ducati 8; Kawasaki 5; Aprilia 3).

9 – The 16 races held in Portugal have seen a total of nine different winners.

4 – Leon Haslam is the only rider never to have won a title who has scored four podiums at Portimao. All other riders who have clocked up four or more podiums have become world champion (Rea 10; Guintoli 5; Biaggi and Sykes 4).

3 – Only one rider has achieved more than one pole position: Tom Sykes with three (between 2012 and 2014).

3 – Only three riders have done the double here: Troy Bayliss in 2008; Max Biaggi in 2010 and Jonathan Rea in 2015. All three went on to become world champion the same year in which they won both races in Portugal.

3 – No manufacturer has achieved three consecutive wins at Portimao. Kawasaki could be the fast after Rea's double in 2015.

2 – Yamaha is the only manufacturer to have obtained pole in two consecutive years in Portugal, doing so with two different riders: with Ben Spies in 2009 and Cal Crutchlow in 2010.

1 – The current world champion Jonathan Rea made his WorldSBK debut at Portimao in 2008, the final race of the season that year. The Northern Irish rider had completed the full World Supersport season, achieving the third fastest time in qualifying that weekend and fourth place in Race 1.



Translated by Heather Watson

Related articles