You are here

MotoGP, Sachsenring: Who will break the Márquez spell?

Rossi has not won on the German track since 2009, the draught for Ducati has lasted a decade with the last win dating back to 2008 with Stoner

MotoGP: Sachsenring: Who will break the Márquez spell?

Sachsenring, the last round before the World Grand Prix Motorcycle Racing circus takes a summer break. In fact, the German track will host the Motorcycle Grand Prix of Germany weekend for the 21st time, 66 years after the track of Solitude, located in West Germany, hosted the first one in 1952, with no less than 400 thousand fans looking on.

Here are all the curious facts about the upcoming round.

- The Sachsenring is one of five circuits in the Motorcycle World Championship, along with Austin, Aragon, Phillip Island and Valencia, where the riders lap anticlockwise.

- From 1961 to the present, the track has hosted an impressive 112 races, MotoGP - 16, 500cc -16, 350cc - 11, Moto2 - 8, 250cc - 24, Moto3 - 6, 125cc - 26, 50cc - 5.

- The best result achieved by a German rider, from 1998 to the present, is the second place earned by Jonas Folger behind Márquez, exactly one year ago.

- Besides Folger, local riders have finished on the podium six other times on the Sachsenring: Ralf Waldmann third in the 1999 250cc race, Steve Jenkner third in 125cc in 2002, Stefan Bradl second in 125cc in 2008, Sandro Cortese third in the 2010 125cc race, Stefan Bradl second in 2011 in Moto2, Sandro Cortese Moto3 winner in 2012 and 2016.

- Honda holds the most wins from 1998 to the present with no less than 14 victories, the latest by Márquez in 2017.

- Yamaha, on the other hand, has had four wins thanks to Valentino Rossi, the most recent in 2009, and Max Biaggi.

- However, only one win for Ducati, in 2008, thanks to Casey Stoner. Also noteworthy are the podium finishes by Troy Bayliss, third in 2003, Loris Capirossi second in 2007, Casey Stoner third in 2010 and Dovizioso third last year.

- The only victory for a Suzuki rider on the Sachsenring dates back to the 500cc race in 1999 with Kenny Roberts Jr. In MotoGP, no one has managed to do better than Chris Vermeulen, third in 2008.

- In the last seven editions of the GP, only Honda riders have started from pole position. To find a different bike, one would have to go back to 2010 with Jorge Lorenzo.

- Márquez is the most victorious rider ever here with eight victories, two more than Pedrosa.

- The eight Moto2 races that have been held on the Sachsenring were won by seven different riders: Toni Elías, Marc Márquez, Jordi Torres, Dominique Aegerter, Xavier Siméon, Johann Zarco and Franco Morbidelli. The only rider to boast more than a single win in Moto2 is Marc Márquez, who won both in 2011 and 2012 after starting from pole position.

- The six Moto3 races held on the Sachsenring were won by six different riders: Sandro Cortese, Álex Rins, Jack Miller, Danny Kent, Khairul Idham Pawi and Joan Mir.

Translated by Jonathan Blosser

Related articles